BWA Human Rights Awards

Annual Award Winners     Quinquennial Awards

Denton and Janice Lotz Human Rights Award

The 2014 Baptist World Alliance Denton and Janice Lotz Annual Human Rights Award nomination process is now CLOSED. Thanks to your nominations, Rev. Ilie Coada of Moldova is the recipient of this year's BWA Human Rights Award. The Award will be given at this year's Annual Gathering in Izmir, Turkey. Click here for press release.

The Baptist World Alliance Denton and Janice Lotz Annual Human Rights Award, established in 2006, is given annually for significant and effective activities to secure, protect, restore, or preserve human rights - those rights inherent in our nature as human beings. For purposes of the Award, the term "human rights" includes all those rights stated in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and such other rights as may be declared in actions by any of the following organs of the United Nations: General Assembly, Security Council, Economic & Social Council, Trusteeship Council, and International Court of Justice (i.e. Declaration on the Rights of the Child). 

Any individual who is a member of a Baptist church or body affiliated with the BWA is eligible. Persons shall not make nominations on their own behalf. Nominations may be made in any language used by a member body of the BWA. Recent recipients include: Rev. Ilie Coada (2014), Prof. Glen Stassen (2013), Rev. Edgar Palacios (2012), Dr. Wati Aier (2011), and Leena Lavanya Kumari (2009).

Nominations for the Quinquennial Award will be open SOON.


Nominations not submitted via the online form above can be sent to the BWA Division on Freedom & Justice by fax, mail, or email.

E-mail: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  Fax: +1 703 893 5160 Postal: Attn: BWA - F&J DIVISION, 405 N. WASHINGTON ST, FALLS CHURCH, VA 20246, UNITED STATES



 2013: Glen Stassen for his longtime role as the foremost proponent of the globally recognized Just Peacemaking Theory in matters or war and conflict.    Click HERE for press release.

** April 26, 2014: Baptist Ethicist Dr. Glen Stassen has gone to be with the Lord. An active member of the Commission on Peace, Dr. Stassen made a great difference in the lives of many around the world, and we express our sadness at his passing, as well as deep gratitude for what he represented to all of us. Though the world has lost an invaluable person, his memory and the work he has done for peace and justice as a committed Christian and Baptist will remain with us. He was one of those few scholars who managed so well to combine theory and praxis, and at the end of the day, his legacy will not allow us to rest. As we remember him, let us be inspired and challenged to carry on his legacy and work even harder and more diligently for peace and equality throughout the world.

We thank members such as Dan Buttry, who have published tributes about this brilliant man.


 2012: Edgar Palacios for his prominent role in advocating for the rights of the poor and negotiating the peacemaking process that brought to  an end a civil war in El Salvador, which took approximately 75,000 lives over the course of 12 years. Click HERE for press release.




2011: Wati Aier in recognition for his persistent work for peace in Nagaland over the years and his role as convener for the Forum for Naga Reconciliation.


2009: Leena Lavanya Kumari of Narasaraopet, Andhra Pradesh, India, for her philanthropic work, human rights advocacy, and church planting endeavors in Narasaraopet and surrounding towns and villages.



2008: Dennis Dilip Datta for his advocacy for Bangladesh independence, the restoration of democracy, and the establishment of religious freedom in his country.




2007: Joao and Nora Matwawana from Angola, for their role in reconciliation and peace efforts in Africa.



2006: Gustavo Parajon from Nicaragua, clergyman, vice president of the BWA for relief and development work.




Quinquennial Human Rights Award

The Quinquennial Human Rights Award is given every five years at the Baptist World Congress to an individual who has shown a life-long commitment toward the betterment of human rights.


2010: Denton Lotz, former general secretary of the Baptist World Alliance, for a lifetime commitment to global human rights concerns.




2005: Lauran Bethell of American Baptist Churches for work with exploited women and children in Thailand.




2000: Pastor Simon from Myanmar working in the refugee camps in Northern Thailand.




1995: Former USA President Jimmy Carter, Director of the Carter Center, Georgia, USA.